The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences is a non-profit, charitable organization, governed by a Board of Directors made up of scholars who are elected by the General Assembly Representatives. The day-to-day operations of the Federation are carried out by the secretariat which is located in Ottawa, Ontario.

Board of Directors


Stephen Toope
Director, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto
[email protected]

Antonia Maioni


Past President

Antonia Maioni
Professor, Department of Political Science / Institute for Health and Social Policy, McGill University


Director, Associations

Dominique Marshall
Professor, Department of History, Carleton University

Director, Associations

Julia Wright
Professor, Department of English, Dalhousie University

Director, Development

Doug Peers
Dean, Faculty of Arts, University of Waterloo

Director, Equity and Diversity

Cindy Blackstock
Executive Director of First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada, Associate Professor, University of Alberta and Director of First Nations Children's Action Research and Education Service

Director, Institutions

Michael Owen 
Vice-President Research, Innovation & International, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Director, Institutions

Lisa Young
Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies, University of Calgary

Director, Research Dissemination

Michael E. Sinatra
Professor, English Department, Université de Montréal

Director, Research Policy

Lisa Philipps
Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University

Director, Teaching and Learning

Fernand Gervais
Doyen, Faculté des sciences de l’éducation, Université Laval

Chair, ASPP Academic Council

Anne-Marie Fortier
Professeur, Département des littératures, Université Laval


Carmen Charette
Vice-President, External Relations, University of Victoria

ASPP Academic Council


Anne-Marie Fortier
Département des littératures, Université Laval


Jennifer Andrews
Department of English, University of New Brunswick

Jacques Bertrand
Department of Political Science, University of Toronto

Alain Noël
Département de science politique, Université de Montréal

Stuart R. Poyntz
School of Communication, Simon Fraser University

Julia Torrie
Department of History, St. Thomas University